International conference of the Collective Security Treaty Organization "On the Role and Nature of Interaction between International and Regional Organizations in the Fight against International Terrorism", Moscow 30 October 2019

Opening Session by INTERPOL Secretary General Jürgen Stock

Opening Session by INTERPOL Secretary General Jürgen Stock 30.10.2019

INTERPOL


Remarks: Opening Session

by

Jurgen Stock INTERPOL Secretary General

International Conference of the COLLECTIVE SECURITY TREATY ORGANISATION "On the Role and Nature of Interaction between International and Regional Organizations in the Fight against International Terrorism"

OPENING SESSION

30 October 2019 Moscow, Russia


Version: Final | 30 October 2019  


Excellency, Acting Secretary-General of CSTO;

Distinguished Heads and Representatives of International and Regional Organizations;

 Ladies and Gentlemen;

Zdravstvuyte.

Good morning.


1. In combating international terrorism, police forces across national borders have a highly effective part to play. And linking them around the world for joint efforts is the work of the International Criminal Police Organization – INTERPOL.

2. This is why, it is an honour for INTERPOL to participate at this important forum here today; and I would like to thank the Collective Security Treaty Organization for hosting this very successful event.

 ***

3. Over the years, in working closely with law enforcement at the ‘frontlines’, INTERPOL has devised a set of effective ‘mechanisms’, or capabilities.

4. You may have heard of INTERPOL’s databases that hold criminal and terrorist information: checking against this information systematically has often led to the positive identification of suspected individuals as they cross national border points. This also includes a Criminal Analysis File on suspected Terrorists, including Foreign Terrorist Fighters.

5. In fact, our host for this meeting today – the Russian Federation – demonstrates a perfect example of regularly using INTERPOL capabilities. Russia is a highly engaged member country of our organization, and in 2018, it was the highest consulter in the world of one of INTERPOL’s eighteen databases.

6. International efforts must be supplemented by building synergy with regional partners. INTERPOL believes in the high value of coordination between international and regional organizations: which is the theme for the meeting today.

7. This is why it is a pleasure to meet with many of our partners here. The Anti-Terrorism Center of the Commonwealth of Independent States (ATC-CIS) and the Regional Anti Terrorist Structure of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO-RATS) are official observers at INTERPOL; with Memorandums of Understanding signed with both entities in 2008 and 2014 respectively. Based on the agreement with ATC-CIS, it also has access to INTERPOL’s communication network and databases.

8. I had the honour to participate at the Interior Ministers Council of the CIS last year; and look forward to INTERPOL’s participation next year, under Armenia’s presidency of the council.

9. We are also thankful for the participation by SCO-RATS at INTERPOL’s General Assembly in Santiago, Chile two weeks ago; and INTERPOL will participate at SCO-RATS’ 7th International Scientific and Practical Conference next week in Tashkent, Dushanbe.

10. INTERPOL enjoys a long-standing association with the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), and we are engaged in multiple joint efforts on an annual basis.

11. Based on deeper understanding of regional issues from both partners and member countries, INTERPOL is better able to design its initiatives for different regions, based on on-ground realities and needs of law enforcement work.

***

12. Lastly, may I also recognize the support INTERPOL receives from international partners such as the United Nations’ Counter Terrorism Executive Directorate (CTED) and Office on Counter Terrorism (OCT), and the International Organization on Migration (IOM): on matters of mutual interest to serve our common membership.

13. Secretary-General SEMERIKOV, thank you; I believe this interaction will help enable our two organizations of CSTO and INTERPOL further build synergy in combating international terrorism.

***

14. Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen; it is always a pleasure to be in Moscow – even if the temperature is cold today, I am sure we all find much warmth in Russian hospitality, always!

15. Thank you very much for your attention. Bolshoye Spasibo.

***



Back to the all news

Международная конференция Организации Договора о коллективной безопасности «О роли и характере взаимодействия международных и региональных организаций в борьбе с международным терроризмом», Москва, 30 октября 2019 года

Вступительное слово Генерального секретаря Интерпола Юргена ШТОКА

Вступительное слово Генерального секретаря Интерпола  Юргена ШТОКА 30.10.2019 Скачать документ

Вступительное слово

Генерального секретаря Интерпола Юргена Штока

30 Октября 2019 Москва, Россия


Ваше Превосходительство, Исполняющий обязанности Генерального секретаря ОДКБ;

Уважаемые руководители и представители международных и региональных организаций;

Дамы и господа.

Здравствуйте.

Доброе утро.


1. В борьбе с международным терроризмом полицейские силы, действующие через национальные границы, играют весьма эффективную роль. А связывать их по всему миру для совместной работы - это деятельность Международной организации уголовной полиции - Интерпола.

2. Вот почему для Интерпола большая честь участвовать сегодня в этом важном форуме; и я хотел бы поблагодарить Организацию Договора о коллективной безопасности за организацию этого очень успешного мероприятия.

 ***

3. На протяжении многих лет, работая в тесном сотрудничестве с правоохранительными органами на «передовой», Интерпол разработал набор эффективных «механизмов» или возможностей.

4. Возможно, вы слышали о базах данных Интерпола, содержащих информацию о преступниках и террористах: систематическая проверка этой информации часто приводила к положительной идентификации подозреваемых лиц при пересечении ими национальных пограничных пунктов. Эти базы данных также содержат уголовное досье на подозреваемых в терроризме лицах, в том числе иностранных боевиков-террористов.

5. Фактически наш организатор сегодняшней встречи - Российская Федерация - демонстрирует прекрасный пример регулярного использования возможностей Интерпола. Россия является страной-участницей нашей организации, и в 2018 году она была самым большим консультантом в мире по одной из восемнадцати баз данных Интерпола.

6. Международные усилия должны дополняться укреплением взаимодействия с региональными партнерами. Интерпол верит в высокую ценность координации между международными и региональными организациями, что является темой сегодняшней встречи.

 7. Именно поэтому здесь приятно встретиться со многими нашими партнерами. Антитеррористический центр Содружества Независимых Государств (АТЦ-СНГ) и Региональная антитеррористическая структура Шанхайской организации сотрудничества (ШОС-РАТС) являются официальными наблюдателями в Интерполе на основании Меморандумами о взаимопонимании, подписанными обеими сторонами в 2008 и 2014 годах соответственно. На основании соглашения АТЦ-СНГ также имеет доступ к сети связи и базам данных Интерпола.

 8. Я имел честь участвовать в Совете министров внутренних дел СНГ в прошлом году. И с нетерпением ожидаем участия Интерпола в следующем году под председательством Армении в Совете.

9. Мы также благодарны за участие ШОС-РАТС в Генеральной Ассамблее Интерпола в Сантьяго, Чили, две недели назад. Интерпол примет участие в 7-й Международной научно-практической конференции ШОС-РАТС на следующей неделе в Ташкенте, Душанбе.

 10. Интерпол имеет давние связи с Организацией по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе (ОБСЕ), и мы участвуем в многочисленных совместных мероприятиях на ежегодной основе.

11. Основываясь на более глубоком понимании региональных проблем как со стороны партнеров, так и стран-членов, Интерпол имеет больше возможностей для разработки своих инициатив для разных регионов, основываясь на реальных потребностях правоохранительной работы.

***

12. Наконец, позвольте мне также признать поддержку, которую ИНТЕРПОЛ получает от международных партнеров, таких как Исполнительный директорат Организации Объединенных Наций по борьбе с терроризмом (ИДКТК) и Управление по борьбе с терроризмом (ОКТ) и Международная организация по миграции (МОМ) по вопросам, представляющим взаимный интерес нашему общему взаимодействию.

13. Генеральный секретарь СЕМЕРИКОВ, благодарю вас. Я верю, что это взаимодействие поможет двум нашим организациям - ОДКБ и Интерполу - и дальше укреплять совместное сотрудничество в борьбе с международным терроризмом.

***

14. Ваши Превосходительства, Дамы и Господа. Быть в Москве всегда приятно - даже если сегодня холодная температура, я уверен, что мы все находим тепло в русском гостеприимстве всегда!

15. Спасибо вам большое за ваше внимание. Большое Спасибо.

 

***



Все новости